Connaught Jewel

On 4 July 1911 the Grand Master HRH the Duke of Connaught and Strathearn, the Worshipful Master of the Old Wellingtonian Lodge, granted this Lodge a unique members’ jewel, to be known as the ‘Connaught Jewel’, and decreed that it be worn at “all Masonic meetings”.

The Connaught Jewel is one of three jewels permitted by the Lodge, the others being our Past Master’s Jewel and the Founder’s Jewel (although the last of our founders Brig S V P Weston passed away in 1973). All three appear below.

The Connaught Jewel comprises the lion rampant of the Duke of Wellington, together with the original name and number of the Lodge, appended to a pale blue ribbon.

The Lodge is believed to be one of approximately 70 under the English Constitution to have a members’ jewel (click here for more information on members’ jewels), and one of only eight to have one bestowed upon it by a member of the Royal Family. It is however not a Royal Jewel (of which there are only three), but one of 5 awarded by Grand Masters. The Duke of Connaught bestowed three such jewels – to Aldershot Army & Navy Lodge, London Irish Rifles Lodge and to the Old Wellingtonian Lodge. The former two are restricted to Master Masons, whereas the Connaught Jewel is for all members of the Lodge.

The Grand Secretary at the time Sir Edward Letchworth, who was an honorary member of the Lodge, issued a certificate detailing the design and nature of the Jewel, and the rights of Lodge members to wear it, which  is still issued to all members when they get their jewels.

 

 

Founder’s Jewel

Connaught Jewel

Past Master’s Jewel